reviews

 

Nothing makes an author happier than reviews. If you’ve enjoyed a book, post a review on Amazon, Goodreads, anywhere you can. And most of all, be sure to recommend it to your friends.

 

e9c010aa42ddf4d33e0139acb05cc0b9

Five Stars
By MCon March 24, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
A gorgeous book that is by turns funny and tender–the perfect blend of humor and heart. Highly recommended.

 

5 STARS! 
By Annie C  November 26, 2015522949_275550282548493_1805592015_n
Format: Kindle Edition
I really enjoyed this book, it is warm, funny and very touching. Cece has a loving boyfriend and, at 29, sees them getting married and starting a family. Unfortunately Doug isn’t on the same page and this causes a rift. Cece flees home and helps out with the production of The Nutcracker Suite that her old ballet school is putting on.

There isn’t a bad character in the book – even the ones you think might a bit dodgy turn out to be real gems. Cece was a brilliant dancer herself until she stopped at 16. Seeing her blossom as she teaches Dawn is quite wonderful!

Brad enters as the temptation- a really good looking divorced man – and the father of Dawn. And Patti turns up for Christmas, Cece’s best friend and one of the funniest characters I’ve come across in a long time. The scene at Cece’s home at Christmas is hysterical!

But does Cece choose Doug and her old life or Brad and a new one in her hometown? You’ll have to read it to find out!

 

 images
5.0 out of 5 starsCozy up with this romance, a Hallmark Special for sure…
ByThe Librarian’s Daughteron September 24, 2015

Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
From a reader who reads all genres except fantasy, comes a recommendation to all who are looking for a sweet story that’s an easy read. A perfect book to curl up with on a long lazy weekend when you want to indulge yourself in some light-hearted romance. Julie Brown is certainly a thoughtful researcher and well honed wordsmith. Her descriptions transport you right into the plot. Not “serious” literature, but just perfect when you want a good solid story. This book gave me exactly what it promised. I think it would make the perfect
Hallmark TV Special. It was a real delight!

My mom recommended that I read this book – it was so …
unknown-2ByNinaon June 17, 2015
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
My mom recommended that I read this book – it was so good! I could relate to the main character and really understand what she was thinking and feeling. I loved it!

 

Fun Read    Bysharon B. Lawtonon March 27, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
Our book club read The Long Dance Home this month as one of our members had met the author.483347_10151148670220672_1990408925_n We had the lovely and unique experience of having
skype experience with Julie Brown, the author. She was so generous answering all the questions about ho
w the book evolved, what her technique was for writing and a great explanation of developing her characters. We were definitely curious IF she was actually the main character!!! Ask the author yourself to find out the answer.

Interesting to our little group, that after after chat with Julie, we had a great discussion about our own lives and was there changes we wish we had made or something we didn’t pursue, we now wish we had. Often the subtlest hint in a novel can evoke so many deep thoughts and shared feeling with others.

I recommend this book as a wonderful afternoon read or certainly a day at the beach. Thoughtful, interesting and at times funny story line with a twist at the end that many do not see coming.

This is the

Soft Lips Julie
Unpredictable Twists Keep You Guessing
By April10on  Amazon March 12, 2015
This booked hooked me immediately. It’s a great easy read, with some unpredictable twists that I wasn’t expecting (and appreciated.) I like it when I can’t figure out the next move in a story. I only wished for a little reality vs. fairytale when Brad came into Cece’s life. How much juicier it would have been if he was still a married man when he hit on her in the coffee shop! But, oh well…
I liked the reality of a blended family, a dysfunctional mother, a strong woman hit with Alzheimer’s, a bratty ballerina, a sad main character, a confused co-worker, a gossipy small town, etc. Julie Brown was creative with her various cast of characters, took us through an interesting journey down life’s curvy path, and convinced me that ‘The Long Dance Home’ could’ve been based on a true story, a real life. I look forward to reading her next book!!
 Unknown-1
What I wanted it to be…..
July 2, 2014
The Long Dance Home by Julie Mayerson Brown was exactly what I wanted it to be.
I was on vacation and I wanted a story that would not only be a fast read, (as I only had two days) but a story that I could be completely immersed into, forgetting my real world. I found the characters believable and interesting and although my life in no way imitated Cece’s, it did reminded me of my pre-children, pre-family days of lesser commitments and responsibility. In that way the story was much of a fantasy that I could vicariously live through. I completely enjoyed the story although the ending took me by surprise.
e9c010aa42ddf4d33e0139acb05cc0b9
January 13, 2014

So love all these delightful characters, especially Patty, who skips through the story with the reliability of a loose electron. Do not start this book, until you can see your way to reading it in one session. You will NOT want to out it down.
Julie Mayerson Brown is wonderfully skilled at creating easy flowing and believable dialogue within a plot designed to keep us guessing. It works.

 

AMAZON – February 19, 2013

I absolutely adored this book. Once I started to read it, I read it straight through in a single sitting. You can’t help but be instantly pulled into the fun world Julie Mayerson Brown has created, a world full of friends, family, and love. I’ve recommended this book to all my friends and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a romantic and fun new read. 

 

ROMANTIC READING ESCAPES – January 21, 2013

This book is one of those “feel good” books. You know the ones I mean. Those that have you smiling all the way through. I not only smiled all the way through the book, but I caught myself laughing out loud at the dialogue and circumstances of these lovable characters . . . (read more at link below – caution – spoiler alert)

www.romanticreadingescapes.com/search/label/Julie%20Mayerson%20Brown

 

GOODREADS – January 5, 2013

“The Long Dance Home” is amazing. You will absolutely love this book and fall in love with Cece as she takes her journey to discovering who she is. This book has humor, romance and heartbreak and is the most heartwarming book I have read in a while. Once you have started reading this book you will not want to put it down. I love reading books where the characters and their relationships with others are believable and this is definately one of those books. I reccomend this book to any and everyone. I look forward to reading more books by the lovely Julie Brown. This one is sure to touch your heart and make you laugh.